Mining Entrepreneur of The Year 1992 - Diggers & Dealers

Philip Crabb has won numerous awards over the years. However, the award he is most proud of is winning is the 1992 Mining Entrepreneur of the Year award at the Diggers & Dealers conference in Kalgoorlie.

WA Entrepreneur of The Year 2002 Nomination - Diggers & Dealers

In 2002, Philip Crabb was nominated for the WA Entrepreneur of the Year. Philip Crabb's nomination was based on a range of criteria including Personal Integrity & Influence, Entrepreneurial Spirit, Innovation, Financial Performance & National and Global Impact. You can read Philip Crabb's full 2002 Entrepreneur of the Year Executive Summary here.

West Australian Mining Hall of Fame

Philip Crabb is a founding member and life member of the WA Mining Hall of Fame. Situated in the heartland of Western Australia’s exploration and mining centre, Kalgoorlie, The WA Mining Hall of Fame was established to provide a visible icon for the Prospectors and Miners of Australia. The building stands as recognition to the importance this industry has contributed and will continue contributing to the economic strength of our country.

Philip Crabb was awarded life membership due to his initial involvement in the fundraising campaign, significant personal donation towards the development of this facility and the contribution to the industry over many years. Since the WA Mining Hall of Fame has been operational Philip Crabb has made a generous donation of Gold and Diamond pieces towards the Mineral Gallery.

Referee: Norma Latchford 08 9026 2700

Cancer Foundation of WA - President’s Medal in 2000

Philip Crabb was Campaign Chairman of the Cancer Council of WA Fundraising Committee (1997-2000) assigned to raise funds for the construction of Crawford Lodge.

His leadership was exemplified as Campaign Chairman not only through the ability to encourage major donations from Businesses and individuals but also the example he set by personally donating substantially towards the foundation.

$5 million was raised by way of a capital appeal, which commenced in 1997. Crawford Lodge officially opened on the 29 February 2000, providing accommodation for cancer patients, and their families, who normally reside in the country but are admitted to Perth to receive cancer treatment. The QEII Medical Trust allocated a former car park on the hospital campus on which to build the Lodge at a peppercorn rent of $1 a year for 50 years. Regional fundraising committees were formed in the South West, the South East and the Goldfields. Patrons are Sir Donald Eckersley, Mrs Ruth Reid, Mr Harry Sheiner and Hon. Robert Wallace. Founders were the A H Crawford Cancer Treatment Society, Lotteries Commission (as it was then known), Phil and Rick Crabb and family, Wesfarmers Ltd and the Perron Charitable Trust.

As a result his fundraising achievements the Foundation awarded The President's Medal to Philip Crabb in 2000.